Sikh Rites of Passage: The Amrit Ceremony

Year 3

Year 4


SKU: R34IL30053

Teach children about the Amrit 'baptism' ceremony and how the first Amrit Sanchar (sometimes called Khande di Pahul) was done by the Guru Gobind Singh and his disciples.

This is the third of five lessons in 'Sikh Rites of Passage' for lower Key Stage 2. It's ideal to be taught as part of this scheme of work, but you can teach it as a standalone lesson, too. The included slides and detailed lesson plan explain how the Amrit ceremony is performed, and how this Sikh custom arose. Children will learn all about the tenth guru of Sikhism, Guru Gobind Singh, and discover what the five 'Ks' are and why a baptised Sikh must wear each of these articles of faith.

Add to Wishlist